What is Gestalt therapy?

Gestalt therapy is a recognized method of humanistic psychology, which was developed in 1951 by Laura Perls (1905-1990) and Fritz Perls (1893-1970), both German Jewish psychoanalysts, and by Paul Goodman (1911-1972), an American author.

What is Gestalt therapy about?

Growth

Gestalt therapy is based on a lifelong process of growth, as well as the potential and inner motivation of people for mental and spiritual health and creative solutions. The person and his or her surroundings are seen as a field of constant interaction and mutual influence. In creative adaptation, she designs her contact processes with the environment. Forms of adaptation, which may have been meaningful answers to deficient and destructive educational and environmental influences in the past, are often dysfunctional and destructive for both individuals and the environment. By working through these forms of adaptation in dialogue and using methods that promote awareness and experience, it is possible to identify and implement possibilities for redesign.

Present time

The preoccupation with questions and problems that arise in current experiences are usually the starting point for the exploration of the self and the thereby becoming clear barriers to growth. The past, or the meaning and handling of it, can only be influenced by making it accessible to experience in the “here and now”.
Dialogue
Decisive for the effect of Gestalt therapy is the dialogical attitude of the gestalt therapist. She/he does not approach the client as a superior expert. Rather, he/she encounters them as a personally recognizable, understanding person who accompanies you on your voyage of discovery with interest, commitment and empathy.

Experience

Gestalt therapy involves less “talking about it”, interpreting or analysing. Through dialogue and experience in the here and now, the client’s perception is sensitized and awareness of feelings, feelings, needs and fantasies is promoted. Physical tracing and experimenting with new behaviours developed from the situation support a process of change.

Gestalt thérapie

La Gestalt thérapie est une méthode reconnue de la psychologie humaniste développée en 1951 par Laura Perls (1905-1990) et Fritz Perls (1893-1970), deux psychanalystes allemands juifs et par Paul Goodman (1911-1972) un auteur américain.

Qu’est-ce que la Gestalt thérapie?

Croissance

La Gestalt thérapie est basée sur un processus de croissance tout au long de la vie, ainsi que sur le potentiel et la motivation intérieure des personnes pour la santé mentale et spirituelle et les solutions créatives. La personne et son entourage sont perçus comme un champ d’interaction constante et d’influence réciproque. Dans l’adaptation créative, elle conçoit ses processus de contact avec l’environnement. Les formes d’adaptation, qui peuvent avoir été des réponses significatives aux influences éducatives et environnementales déficientes et destructrices dans le passé, sont souvent dysfonctionnelles et destructrices tant pour les individus que pour l’environnement. En travaillant à travers ces formes d’adaptation dans le dialogue et en utilisant des méthodes qui favorisent la prise de conscience et l’expérience, il est possible d’identifier et de mettre en œuvre des possibilités de refonte.

Epoque actuelle

Le souci des questions et des problèmes qui surgissent dans les expériences actuelles est généralement le point de départ de l’exploration de soi et devient ainsi un obstacle évident à la croissance. Le passé, ou le sens et le traitement de celui-ci, ne peut être influencé qu’en le rendant accessible à l’expérience dans le « ici et maintenant ».

Dialogue

L’attitude dialogique du thérapeute en gestalt est décisive pour l’effet de la thérapie Gestalt. Il/elle n’aborde pas le client comme un expert supérieur. Il les rencontre plutôt comme une personne compréhensive et reconnaissable qui vous accompagne dans votre voyage de découverte avec intérêt, engagement et empathie.

Eprouver

La Gestalt thérapie implique moins « d’en parler », d’interpréter ou d’analyser. Grâce au dialogue et à l’expérience dans le présent, la perception du client est sensibilisée et la conscience des sentiments, des sentiments, des besoins et des fantasmes est favorisée. Le repérage physique et l’expérimentation de nouveaux comportements développés à partir de la situation favorisent un processus de changement.